About Us

Welcome to Footsteps Nursery

We aim to ensure each child

  • Is in a safe and stimulating environment
  • Is given generous care and attention through our ratio of highly qualified staff to children
  • Has the chance to join in with other children to live, play and learn together
  • Is helped to progress in their learning and development by building on what they already know and can do
  • Has their own key person to bond with who will ensure their progress
  • Is in a setting that sees parents as partners and who help to shape the service that we offer
  • Has their individual needs met consistently


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes. As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

The EYFS seeks to provide:

· Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;

· A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;

· Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;

· Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.

The areas of learning and development:

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

· Communication and language;

· Physical development; and

· Personal, social and emotional development.

Children must also be supported in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the world; and

• Expressive arts and design.